Board of Directors

A board of directors (BofD) is the governing body of a company, whose members are elected by shareholders (in the case of public companies) to set strategy, oversee management, and protect the interests of shareholders and stakeholders. Every public company must have a board of directors. Some private companies and nonprofit organizations also have a board of directors.

Key Points
The board of directors of a public company is elected by shareholders.
The board makes key decisions on issues such as mergers and dividends, hires senior managers, and sets their pay.
Board of directors candidates can be nominated by the company's nominations committee or by outsiders seeking change.
Public companies must have a board of directors.
Read more from the [Source of Information].

ACE Equity database covers 30,000 companies listed & unlisted in India. Data includes financial and non-financial information of companies and sectors. It covers Company, Sector, Mutual Funds, Macro Economy and Digital Library. The database provides financial and general information on each company - balance sheet, P&L account with schedules and sub schedules, segment-wise finance, cash flow, forex data, a gamut of ratios, quarterly, half-yearly and annual results with currency conversion facility, share price data, shareholding information, complete information of the derivative market, sectorial indices movements, array of high quality news, and bulletin of corporate events

• Access options: On-campus | Off-campus | IP-based direct access | Guide: 

Real-Time Market and Execution and real-time pricing for over 5 million securities worldwide, plus extensive historical pricing and stock charts. Providing current and historical financial quotes, business newswires, and descriptive information, research, and statistics on over 52,000 companies worldwide, data on more than 120 indicators for approximately 5,000 publicly-listed companies globally, and increasing coverage every day.

• Access options: Terminal-based restricted access (inside the library only) | Guide:  

The BoardEx analyzes over 26,000 companies and maintains the current profiles of over 1.6 million individuals across the world. It includes time series data on compensation, committee structures, board composition from 1999, board announcements from 2002 to the present, and an organization summary and company details. The data also covers the director profiles of all board and supervisory directors in the selected region. These profiles hold details of current and past appointments and activities in both the public and private sectors, going back as far as possible. The networks which evolve throughout a director's career are also included in the data sets.

• Access options: On-campus | Off-campus | One-time registration required | Guide: 

Capitaline is an online database giving financial and other information on more than 55,800+ companies, which includes listed as well as unlisted companies. It provides extensive and accurate data on companies, which runs into over 1500 data fields. The companies are grouped under all major industries from various sectors. A Balance Sheet or P&L can be read with complete schedules or breakups along with different useful tools like; common size, simple growth, CAGR growth, etc. The data format has been created and standardized by keeping in mind the accepted norms & practices. Capitaline provides analyst meet reports AGM reports for more than 200 companies every quarter in text format along with coverage of all corporate announcement on daily basis. IPO data are covered extensively, which include; Issues, Prospectus, Allotment & New Listing. Live News: Market Commentary, Hot Pursuit & Corporate News. Historical coverage: Last 15 to 20 years.

• Access options: On-campus | Off-campus | One-time registration required | Guide: 

Prowess dx is a delivery of the Prowess database that is specially designed for academia.

1. Quick and easy downloading of the data in simple text format.
2. 51,262 companies covered, including listed companies, unlisted public companies and private companies. All companies listed on the National Stock Exchange and the Bombay Stock Exchange are covered.
3. Time-series data since 1990. Annual Reports of companies and data available from India's two largest stock exchanges are the principal sources of this database.
4. Includes the profit and loss statement, balance sheet and ratios based on these. There are 3,500 data fields in Prowess dx.
5. In the case of listed companies, cash flow statement, quarterly financial statements, share prices, corporate action and daily total returns are included. Financial statements based on consolidated and standalone basis are available.
6. Financial statements are standardized. The database does not suffer from any deliberate survival bias. The database is updated continuously.

• Access options: On-campus | Off-campus | One-time registration required | Guide: 

Dion is an India focused research database provides solutions for Trading; Distribution Products like Mutual Fund, IPO, OFS, Bond & FD, risk and compliance to meet the specific needs of investment banking, retail and commercial banking, institutional trading and private client wealth management and stockbroking.

• Access options: On-campus | Off-campus | IP-based direct access | Guide: 

Indian Boards provides detailed information on board of 1467 NSE listed companies. It includes company-wise names of the present board of directors, position on the board, independent director/non-independent director, date of appointment as a director, committee details, names of committees, chairman/members, remuneration of directors, company-wise cessation of directors, directors profiles, etc. Additionally, it also provides data on the boards of prominent unlisted financial sector companies (more than 200) such as AMCs, AMC trustees, clearing corporations, commodity exchanges, depositories, stock exchanges, pensions funds, insurance companies and unlisted banks, etc.

• Access options: On-campus | Off-campus | IP-based direct access.

ISS provides data on Historical Governance, Historical Directors data, Voting Results data, Incentive Lab data, Voting Analytics with N-PX data, and Shareholder Proposal data. It is accessed through WRDS platform.

• Access options: On-campus | Off-campus | One-time registration required | Guide:  

LexisNexis covers information on legal, risk management, corporate, government, law enforcement, accounting, and academic markets. It provides over 15,000 business, legal and news, access thousands of newspapers, periodicals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires, blogs, corporate directories, and financial information. News sources like accountancy age, advertising age, Hoover's IPO reports, M & A reports, Monthly industry reviews, etc. Complete coverage of U.S. federal and state courts, Shepard's Citations Service, and access to hundreds of law reviews. LexisNexis Company Dossier Reports access provides comprehensive information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies, including industry and executive data.

• Access Options: Access On-Campus | Access Off-Campus | IP-based direct access | Guide: 

This database offers a comprehensive and unique collection of company, industry and country analysis and report, extending across 200+ countries and every major industry sector. Market data analysis database provides data across the globe on food, drinks, personal care, household products, pet care, news and magazines, etc. Country statistics database provides macro-socio economic data of 215 countries worldwide both historic and forecast data.

• Access options: On-campus | Off-campus | IP-based direct access | Guide:  

Provides current data of exchange-traded instruments including stocks, warrants, options, futures, indexes, etc. around the world, historical equity data ranging from several months to over 20 years, government and corporate bonds information from over 100 countries, foreign exchange rates for 175 currencies, comprehensive coverage on commodities and energy, economic indicators (e.g., consumer price index) for many countries, extensive business and financial information for listed companies.

• Access options: Terminal-based restricted access (inside the library only) | Guide:  

FIG (ex-SNL) provides information on worldwide bank analysis, on an integrated online platform along with Excel. This platform covers 56,000+ listed, non-listed and subsidiary banks (30,000+ active), 58,000+ asset management companies, 11,000+ speciality finance companies, 18000+ investment banks and broker-dealers globally i.e. Americas, Asia- Pacific, Europe, Middle East, and Africa with comprehensive, reliable and timely financial data, including 100-600+ items. All items are available in the form of a heavily vetted banking specific template. Using the Market Intelligence platform, the researcher can identify regulatory red flags and take pre-emptive action. From loan portfolio analysis to credit risk, you can quickly identify key risks and potential problems compared to your peers. Market Intelligence platform also gives you instant access to the data that the researcher needs to evaluate their branch network and make the most of it based on geographic, demographic and financial factors. Real Estate, tracks thousands of real estate properties around the world. The properties section within a company's briefing book gives you detailed information on a company's property portfolio, including property transactions, properties in its development pipeline, top tenants and top markets. Data is sourced from the company press releases, web sites, annual reports and government filings. For more detail please find the attached brochure.

• Access options: On-campus | Off-campus | One-time registration required | Guide: 

This database is useful for startups and entrepreneurs. Tracxn have the team of Analysts tracking startups globally to help Venture Capital and Corp. Dev. teams scout investment opportunities and diligence deals. Tracxn platform is used for deep-dive sector research, outbound deal discovery and uncovering exciting startups across sectors.

• Access options: On-campus | Off-campus | One-time registration required | Guide: