Household, Amenities and Assets

1. People of India Dx: It contains detailed identity information like age, gender, religion, caste, state of origin, occupation, literacy, education level and discipline in case of higher education, the status of health and financial inclusion, etc about 8,85,000 individual members who reside in households in the Consumer Pyramids sample.
2. Unemployment Dx: Provide information on employment and unemployment status about the members residing in all households in the Consumer Pyramids sample. This is a database of about 5,22,000 people. It provides employment or unemployment status for each member (who is greater than or equal to 15 years of age) of each household in the database.
3. Composition of Incomes Dx: Provides information about the incomes of earning members residing in households in the Consumer Pyramids sample. It provides information regarding the monthly earning and source of earning for each earning member of each household in the database. The database contains information on age and gender of the member, month of income, income in the form of wages, income from pensions, income in the form of dividends and interest income. Each source of income is shown separately against each member, wherever applicable. Besides, it contains the income of the household from rent, private transfers, government transfers, business profits, profit from the sale of assets, income from lotteries or gambling and imputed income of production for self-consumption.
4. Household Amenities, Assets & Liabilities Dx: Provides information on the availability of basic amenities in households, ownership of assets, the pattern of investments and sources & purpose of borrowing. Basic amenities include data on the availability of toilet inside the household, access to electricity and water inside the household and also the type of material used in walls and roof of the household. Access to transport infrastructure is captured by asking the time it takes household members to travel ten kilometers from the household. It also provides information on whether the household has an outstanding borrowing or not and if it does have an outstanding borrowing then what are the sources and what are the purposes of the borrowing.
5. Household Expense Dx: It provides information on household spends across over 80 expense items. The sample is spread across India with detailed data of expenditure of households on 82 household items during each month of the surveyed period. It also provides a view of the changing spending capacity and the pattern of expenditure of the households of India. Also, provides information on the monthly expense of 29 food items and 53 non-food items. The 29 food items include whole-grain cereals, pulses, edible oils, vegetables, fruits, potatoes & onions, tea, coffee, jam/pickle/ketchup, sweeteners, bread, milk & milk products, meat/eggs & fish, biscuits, namkeen & salty snacks, chocolates/cakes & ice-creams, etc. The 53 non-food items include intoxicants, cosmetics& toiletries, clothing, footwear, restaurants, recreation, purchase of household appliances, education, health, electricity, petrol, transport, communication, bills & rent, transport, communication, Equated Monthly Installment (EMI) and miscellaneous expenses, etc.
6. Consumer Sentiments Dx: This survey is measured on the lines of the work done in this regard by the Survey Research Center at the University of Michigan. This effort, called the Survey of Consumers, began in 1946 and has produced several measures that are well established lead indicators in the US. Five questions are asked to measure consumer sentiments. The first two questions pertain to consumers perceptions regarding their current well-being and expectations of their future well-being. The next two questions take into account perceptions that consumers have regarding current and prospective economic conditions of the country as a whole. The last question is with respect to the household?s propensity to spend on consumer durables around the time of the interview.

Content: Economics and Statistics. Campus-wide Access | One-time registration required. 

EBSCO Discovery Service offers a single access point to search a vast range of our library's resources. It is an online research tool that "pulls together" almost all of our Library resources (except databases) so that they can be explored using a single search box.

EBSCO Discovery Service offers a single access point to search a vast range of our library's resources. It is an online research tool that "pulls together" almost all of our Library resources (except databases) so that they can be explored using a single search box.

EBSCO Discovery Service offers a single access point to search a vast range of our library's resources. It is an online research tool that "pulls together" almost all of our Library resources (except databases) so that they can be explored using a single search box.

EBSCO Discovery Service offers a single access point to search a vast range of our library's resources. It is an online research tool that "pulls together" almost all of our Library resources (except databases) so that they can be explored using a single search box.

EBSCO Discovery Service offers a single access point to search a vast range of our library's resources. It is an online research tool that "pulls together" almost all of our Library resources (except databases) so that they can be explored using a single search box.

EBSCO Discovery Service offers a single access point to search a vast range of our library's resources. It is an online research tool that "pulls together" almost all of our Library resources (except databases) so that they can be explored using a single search box.

1. People of India Dx: It contains detailed identity information like age, gender, religion, caste, state of origin, occupation, literacy, education level and discipline in case of higher education, the status of health and financial inclusion, etc about 8,85,000 individual members who reside in households in the Consumer Pyramids sample.
2. Unemployment Dx: Provide information on employment and unemployment status about the members residing in all households in the Consumer Pyramids sample. This is a database of about 5,22,000 people. It provides employment or unemployment status for each member (who is greater than or equal to 15 years of age) of each household in the database.
3. Composition of Incomes Dx: Provides information about the incomes of earning members residing in households in the Consumer Pyramids sample. It provides information regarding the monthly earning and source of earning for each earning member of each household in the database. The database contains information on age and gender of the member, month of income, income in the form of wages, income from pensions, income in the form of dividends and interest income. Each source of income is shown separately against each member, wherever applicable. Besides, it contains the income of the household from rent, private transfers, government transfers, business profits, profit from the sale of assets, income from lotteries or gambling and imputed income of production for self-consumption.
4. Household Amenities, Assets & Liabilities Dx: Provides information on the availability of basic amenities in households, ownership of assets, the pattern of investments and sources & purpose of borrowing. Basic amenities include data on the availability of toilet inside the household, access to electricity and water inside the household and also the type of material used in walls and roof of the household. Access to transport infrastructure is captured by asking the time it takes household members to travel ten kilometers from the household. It also provides information on whether the household has an outstanding borrowing or not and if it does have an outstanding borrowing then what are the sources and what are the purposes of the borrowing.
5. Household Expense Dx: It provides information on household spends across over 80 expense items. The sample is spread across India with detailed data of expenditure of households on 82 household items during each month of the surveyed period. It also provides a view of the changing spending capacity and the pattern of expenditure of the households of India. Also, provides information on the monthly expense of 29 food items and 53 non-food items. The 29 food items include whole-grain cereals, pulses, edible oils, vegetables, fruits, potatoes & onions, tea, coffee, jam/pickle/ketchup, sweeteners, bread, milk & milk products, meat/eggs & fish, biscuits, namkeen & salty snacks, chocolates/cakes & ice-creams, etc. The 53 non-food items include intoxicants, cosmetics& toiletries, clothing, footwear, restaurants, recreation, purchase of household appliances, education, health, electricity, petrol, transport, communication, bills & rent, transport, communication, Equated Monthly Installment (EMI) and miscellaneous expenses, etc.
6. Consumer Sentiments Dx: This survey is measured on the lines of the work done in this regard by the Survey Research Center at the University of Michigan. This effort, called the Survey of Consumers, began in 1946 and has produced several measures that are well established lead indicators in the US. Five questions are asked to measure consumer sentiments. The first two questions pertain to consumers perceptions regarding their current well-being and expectations of their future well-being. The next two questions take into account perceptions that consumers have regarding current and prospective economic conditions of the country as a whole. The last question is with respect to the household?s propensity to spend on consumer durables around the time of the interview.

Content: Economics and Statistics. Campus-wide Access | One-time registration required. 

EBSCO Discovery Service offers a single access point to search a vast range of our library's resources. It is an online research tool that "pulls together" almost all of our Library resources (except databases) so that they can be explored using a single search box.